Message From Head

The department came into existence in 1965 as the Department of Aeronautical Engineering. Later in 1988, it was renamed as the Department of Aerospace Engineering. Since its inception the department is engaged in imparting education in various aspects of aircraft and space technology. Read More

New Faculty Joined

Akshay Prakash
Mira Mitra

About the Department

The department was set up in 1965 leading to B.Tech (Hons.) degree after a high power committee appointed by GOI stressed the need for manpower training in the field of Aeronautical Engineering. Over the years, the department has built up laboratories in the areas of Aerodynamics, Structures , Propulsion ,System & Controls, Aeromodelling ,etc. A Centre of Excellence for Composite Structures Technology and CFD from 1999 ,1988 respectively, funded by ARDB, has been established in 1999. Currently, the research efforts of the faculty are supported by a large number of projects sponsored by ARDB, ADA, ISRO, DST, AICTE, MHRD and many other organisations.

Head of the Department Prof. Dipak K Maiti
Phone (Head's chamber) : +91-3222-282242 Office : +91-3222-2882241
Tele Fax : +91-3222-2882241
Phone (Chamber) : +91-3222-283028 Phone (Residence) : +91-3222-283029
Email :


News and Events

Developing New Website

For any suggestion , welcome